Dog Licenses

Licensing your dog is the best way to protect your pet while also helping the dogs at CCAS!

There are 3 simple ways to purchase your license:

Online

The fastest and easiest way to get your dog license is to buy online through the dog license portal. You can update you and your dog's records, as needed.

Buy Now!
In your neighborhood

Want to have your tag in hand immediately? Shop one of our neighborhood reseller locations.

License Reseller Locations
Mail

Download, print, and mail in your application for us to process.

Download Application

Why License?

Licenses save lives

Fees from dog licenses go directly to the operation of the shelter and our animal control efforts in Cuyahoga County.

Reuniting loved ones

When your dog's license is attached to his collar we are able to easily reunite you and your lost pet.

Longer Stay

Dog with a current year license are held at the shelter for 14 days for their owner to reclaim instead of the minimum stray hold, 72 hours.

Legal Registration

Much like your car, your dog license registration gives you legal ownership of your dog, should they ever be stolen.

It's Ohio law

Ohio law requires all owners to license their dog yearly, or face penalties and possible citations.

Questions?

Trouble with registration?

9500 Sweet Valley Drive
Valley View, Ohio 44125
License a dog

When to buy a License?

Open enrollment is yearly from December 1 through January 31. Purchasing your license after January 31 of the year is subject to a penalty double the amount of the license.

How much is a License?

There are three dog license options. Regardless of the time of year you buy, your license is valid until the end of the year for the term:

  • 1 Year - $20
  • 3 Year - $60
  • Permanent - $200
  • Penalty for late license purchase - $20

Dog License FAQ's

Dogs 3 months or older are required to have a license, every year.

Open enrollment to renew your dog license is from December 1 to January 31. If you have previously purchased a license, a renewal will be mailed to the last address you have on file.

You can still renew online by logging into your account. You can also buy at any of the neighborhood locations. You are still required to purchase a license, even if you didn't receive a renewal.

Ohio law states that any dog license not purchased between December 1 and January 31 is equal to penalty double the amount of the license.

There is no provision in the law to waive the penalty for extenuating circumstances.

You have 30 days from the date acquired to get a license. After 30 days, you will be assessed a $20 penalty.

No, state and most local laws require dogs to be on your property or under reasonably control when being walked. Allowing your dog to run loose is not safe for your dog or other pedestrians.

No, as long as your dog has an up to date license purchased in Ohio, each county will honor the license. You should register your dog in Cuyahoga during the next open enrollment period.

Ohio law states dog licenses are only good to until the end of the current year, regardless at what date they are purchased. Dog owners must purchase a new license during open enrollment, December 1 to January 31, or pay a penalty fee.

Online dog license purchases are typically mailed the next business day. Applications received via USPS mail are typically mailed out in 3-5 business days upon receipt.